// archives

jack white

This tag is associated with 5 posts

Jack White Makes Solo Debut With ‘Blunderbuss’

Jack White‘s debut solo album is set to be released on April 24th, 2012, however, despite White’s attempts to stop it being leaked (including sending promotional copies in the form of vinyl records only), it was leaked on April 15th.

The album portrays the jigsaw pieces of White’s career coming together to create thirteen exemplary tracks. A wide variety of genres are covered in the album from blues to garage rock, including White’s signature catchy riffs, and distorted vocals. Styles from all of his projects including The White Stripes, The Raconteurs, The Dead Weather as well as from his musical influences like Son House are all definitely present in the album. It represents White’s chance to produce a record which is truly representative of him. In his own words, “I’ve put off making records under my own name for a long time but these songs feel like they could only be presented under my name. These songs were written from scratch, had nothing to do with anyone or anything else but my own expression, my own colors on my own canvas.”

Blunderbuss is now streaming on iTunes for free listening and will available for purchase on the 24th, including vinyl copies of the album from Third Man Records.

Blunderbuss Tracklisting:
01. Missing Pieces
02. Sixteen Saltines
03. Freedom At 21
04. Love Interruption
05. Blunderbuss
06. Hypocritical Kiss
07. Weep Themselves To Sleep
08. I’m Shakin’
09. Trash Tongue Talker
10. Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy
11. I Guess I Should Go To Sleep
12. On And On And On
13. Take Me With You When You Go

Jack White to Release Solo Album

Jack White, former front-man of The White Stripes, always seems to be working on a music project. He has just announced a new solo LP that will be released April 24. The album is titled Blunderbluss. Listen to the first single, “Love Interruption”, below. You can also purchase the single here at 9 PM PST later today.

Below is extra information and what Jack White had to say about the album from a press release:

Produced by White and recorded at his own Third Man Studio in Nashville, Blunderbuss has been described by White as “an album I couldn’t have released until now. I’ve put off making records under my own name for a long time but these songs feel like they could only be presented under my name. These songs were written from scratch, had nothing to do with anyone or anything else but my own expression, my own colors on my own canvas.”

Jack Black + ICP and the Deftones + Witch House. If Anyone Opposes This Union…

So… this is a thing that happened…

For no discernible reason, Jack White has teamed up with the Insane Clown Posse and JEFF the Brotherhood to pay homage to the German affinity for all things anal[Editor’s note: Mozart’s “Leck Mich am Arsch”]. Since it’s been heavily reported and corroborated (and filmed), I’m relieved to note that this just wasn’t another fever dream resulting from an afternoon spent imbibing absinthe and pop rocks while filling out Mad Libs with the aid of a stack of Spin back issues.

While I can see ICP’s desire to work with actual artists, I’m more puzzled by White’s involvement. Perhaps the recent disbanding of the White Stripes has left him with an excess of free time, and lord knows there are only so many “interesting” mustaches you can grow. And I suppose JEFF the Brotherhood jumped at the chance to work with White but were (perhaps) not privy to all the details. (JTB walks into studio, sees ICP: “What the hell are you doing here? ICP: “Who the hell are you?”)

But, nonetheless, it has happened and there’s video proof. Enjoy?

And then there’s this:

Deftones‘ frontman Chino Moreno decides to throw his goatee into the ring and cranks out a witch house EP under the name †††. There’s nothing quite like an interloper insinuating himself into the genre du jour. This move will undoubtedly result in the unfortunately not-rare-enough double backfire as diehard Deftones fans reject this faster than a Canadian health care recipient’s body rejects a black market kidney. And the cool kids of death™ will have nothing to do with this nu-metal tourist.

See also: this statement from †‡† (a.k.a. Ritualz), who is upset that Moreno is stealing Unicode. The comment thread has clearly been given over to Deftones fans, whom I would gently like to remind that the band name is properly pronounced “Deft Ones.”

Go Team CoCo

Check out Conan O’Brien’s duet with Jack White from the first episode of his new show, “Conan”, right here.

Jack White, Soundgarden on Conan

Jack White is confirmed to be the first musical guest on Conan O’Brien’s “Conan”. Soundgarden will be the second. The show officially launches on November 8 on TBS.