// archives

La Dispute

This tag is associated with 2 posts

Stream: La Dispute – “Stay Happy There”

La Dispute Press

La Dispute‘s forthcoming record Rooms of the House, is now available for pre-order. There are both LP and CD formats alongside bundles including Yesterday’s Home, a 48 page paperback of lyrics, notes, photographs and artwork which documents the writing and recording of ROTH, a 3″ embroidered patch, an exclusive sticker pack, a tote bag and a 12″ screen printed poster. All pre-orders also come with an immediate download of “Stay Happy There” which is available to stream unofficially on Tumblr and YouTube.

Their new studio album is being released through their own record label called Better Living which in their own words was “created as a means to collaborate with other artists and also non-profits and charities who we connect with and want to support. As part of the pre-order for Rooms of the House, we are inviting those who order to choose one of three organizations from their region that they would like to support through their purchase. The three organizations will all be given a donation, the amount depending on the number of votes each receives.By choosing one of the organizations, you are helping them continue to run projects, workshops, and programming within your communities and around the world. We encourage you to look into each of the programs and choose something that you feel is important to you.” Rooms of the House was recorded and mixed by Will Yip at Studio 4 in Philadelphia, produced by Yip and La Dispute, and mastered at The Lodge by Emily Lazar. To pre-order the album and pick up one of the bundles click here or for a digital copy click here for iTunes. Check out the track listing for the new album to be release on March 18th below.

Track listing:
1. Hudosonville, MI 1956
2. First Reactions After Falling Through the Ice
3. Woman (In Mirror)
4. Scenes from Highways 1981-2009
5. For Mayor in Splitsville
6. 35
7. Stay Happy There
8. The Child We Lost 1963
9. Woman (Reading)
10. Extraordinary Dinner Party
11. Objects in Space

La Dispute Offer Full Discography for Charity

For Christmas, the post-hardcore band La Dispute, who recently released their newest LP, Wildlife, have their entire discography on a free/donation basis on their Bandcamp page. Starting at midnight EST time tonight and lasting until midnight EST tomorrow (the whole of Christmas day), you can grab all ten of the band’s previous releases. All donations made through the Bandcamp page will be donated to 826michigan, “a non-profit organization dedicated to supporting students aged 6 to 18 with their creative and expository writing skills, and to helping teachers inspire their students to write. 826 opened its doors in June of 2005. Since then, it has been blessed with students, tutors, and volunteers overflowing with enthusiasm.”

If you’re completely new to the band, I recommend starting with Somewhere at the Bottom of the River Between Vega and Altair, which in my opinion is their best release so far. If you’re more into punk and not lyrically up for fables about love and broken hearts, download Wildlife, which is their matured more punk-esque sounding sophomore release. Their split with Touché Amoré and their Untitled 7″ are also good listens, which you should definitely consider as they contain some of my personal favorite tracks. Just a reminder though before downloading, La Dispute are an acquired taste, with Jordan Dreyer’s emotionally driven vocals coming out as wails at times, combined with spoken-word poetic lyrics. Be sure to try this band out though because all the donations go towards a good cause!