// archives

the strokes

This tag is associated with 16 posts

New Strokes Song + Video

Like The Strokes? Well then you’re in luck today because the always rocking New York City band has released a new song titled “You’re So Right” and a new music video for their album’s lead single “Under Cover of Darkness”. Angles will be released on March 21 in the UK via Rough Trade and on March 22 in the U.S. via RCA. Check out the new song here, the new video here, and Julian Casablancas’ description of the new song below.

Speaking to NME about the song, singer Julian Casablancas said: “I had some early REM vibes for a minute or two. It’s a darker one. It counters some of the happy vibes on the other tracks. I like dark things!”

Single: The Strokes – “Under Cover Of Darkness”

Track: “Under Cover Of Darkness”
Artist: The Strokes
Release Date: February 9, 2011
Label: RCA / Rough Trade

“Under Cover Of Darkness”, the lead single from The Strokes‘ upcoming record Angles, practically cries out ‘classic Strokes’ and ‘return to form.’ Simply put, this new song sounds like The Strokes: the tinny drum sound, the quick, sharp, layered guitar lines, the classic Julian chorus, and the boundless energy that lured fans in ten years ago (yes, it really has been ten years). “Under Cover Of Darkness” is simple yet bold, going back to the basics to collect what works for the band and adapting these facets for a more modern sound, resulting in something like a hybrid between “You Only Live Once” and “Last Nite”. The result is rather magnificent; the music is care-free and comfortable, but it is clear that the band has been meticulous with their song craft. Julian wails, “I’ll wait for you / Will you wait for me, too?” Of course we will. 

“Under Cover Of Darkness” is from Angles, out March 21st via RCA / Rough Trade.

MP3: The Strokes – “Under Cover Of Darkness”

Rating: 8/10

The Strokes Debut First Single As Free Download

In just a few hours, The Strokes will debut first single “Under Cover of Darkness” as a free download via their website. The single will be available for 48 hours starting on February 9 and is the first single released from Angles, out March 22 via RCA/Rough Trade.

“Under Cover of Darkness” will be available for purchase digitally on February 15.

The Strokes Reveal Tracklisting for Angles

The Strokes have revealed the tracklisting for their fourth studio album Angles. The album will be released on March 21 in the UK via Rough Trade and on March 22 in the U.S. via RCA. Track number two, “Under Cover of Darkness”, is the first single and will hit the radio airwaves in about a month’s time. Check out the tracklisting below.


01 Machu Picchu
02 Under Cover of Darkness
03 Two Kinds of Happiness
04 You’re So Right
05 Taken for a Fool
06 Games
07 Call Me Back
08 Gratisfaction
09 Metabolism
10 Life Is Simple in the Moonlight

The Strokes Confirm Release Date

The Strokes‘ bassist Nikolai Fraiture confirmed that the official release date for the new, untitled album is March 22. The bassist previously said in an interview, “Sonically, I feel it’s the album which should have been made between Room on Fire and First Impressions of Earth.”

UPDATE: They have officially announced that the name of the new album will be Angles. The lead single is “Undercover of Darkness”.

The Strokes Finish Recording

The Strokes have finished their new album and plan on releasing it in the next few months.