Listen: Song Dogs – “Wild Country”

Song Dogs
At the end of last year, Song Dogs, an independent prairie-heavy roots rock band from Philadelphia released their debut ten track LP, Wild Country. The band consists of inner-city high school teachers, a poet, a law student, and a Liberian immigrant who, because of gender stereotyping, was not allowed to play drums in her homeland. The writing process consisted of four of the band members which in turn made Wild Country a musically diverse release, encompassing everything captivating of this unique genre.


“The album searches for the lost “wild country”: a land that, like all wild things, is both beautiful and dangerous.”

With harmonica stylings and overdrive distortion hooks the songs are reminiscent of the rock and roll giants like Bruce Springsteen and Tom Petty. The album was produced by Bill Moriarty (Dr. Dog) at Waking Studios in Philadelphia and mastered by Brian Lucey (The Black Keys) at Magic Garden Mastering. You can stream and download the album from their Bandcamp Page and for more information you can go to their Facebook Page and website. Tell us what you think in the comments below!

Stream: Tennis – Young & Old

On Valentine’s Day, Denver husband-and-wife duo Tennis will release their sophomore effort, Young & Old, via Fat Possum. With Patrick Carney of The Black Keys manning the boards for the entire album, Tennis seem to have mastered their sound, resulting in another fun, relaxing record of indie-pop jams. You can listen to the ten-song record, in full, below.

Tennis 2012 Tour Dates:

02-09 Paris, France – Point Ephémère
02-10 Amsterdam, Netherlands – Paradiso
02-11 Ostend, Belgium – Zwerver Cafe
02-13 London, England – Hoxton Bar And Kitchen
02-16 Denver, CO – Bluebird Theater
02-22 Omaha, NE – Slowdown
02-24 Madison, WI – High Noon Saloon
02-26 Chicago, IL – Lincoln Hall
02-27 Indianapolis, IN – Radio Radio
02-28 Cleveland, OH – Grog Shop
02-29 Toronto, Ontario – Horseshoe Tavern
03-02 Allston, MA – Brighton Music Hall
03-03 New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom
03-05 Music Hall of Williamsburg
03-06 Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer *
03-07 Washington, DC – Black Cat *
03-09 Chapel Hill, NC – Local 506
03-10 Atlanta, GA – The Earl
03-11 Orlando, FL – Orange You Glad Festival
04-24 Salt Lake City, UT – Urban Lounge
04-26 Seattle, WA – The Crocodile
04-27 Vancouver, British Columbia – Biltmore Caberet
04-28 Portland, OR – Doug Fir Lounge
04-30 San Francisco, CA – The Independent
05-02 Los Angeles, CA – Troubadour
05-03 San Diego, CA – The Casbah
05-04 Phoenix, AZ – Crescent Ballroom

* with White Rabbits

Tennis Announce New Album, Premiere “Origins”

Next Valentine’s Day, we will all be treated to the release of husband-and-wife duo Tennis‘s sophomore album, Young and Old. The follow up to this year’s Cape Dory, the new album is completely produced by The Black Keys‘ Patrick Carney and will be released by Fat Possum Records. As a first taste, Tennis posted a brand new song titled “Origins” which will serve as the album’s first single. There hasn’t been much change in the duo’s sound and “Origins” is in the same vein as the songs on Cape Dory. You can listen to the track below for free now, or wait for the single’s official release in December.

The Black Keys’ New Album

Turns out the news about Blakroc 2 was only a rumor, and blues-rock band The Black Keys denied that any talk for that project has begun or will ever happen. However, the band has just announced that they will be releasing a new album on December 6th. The album will be titled El Camino and you can watch a trailer for the album below. The trailer features Bob Odenkirk (Saul!) and you can check out the website while you’re at it.

01. Lonely Boy
02. Dead and Gone
03. Gold on the Ceiling
04. Little Black Submarines
05. Money Maker
06. Run Right Back
07. Sister
08. Hell of a Season
09. Stop Stop
10. Nova Baby
11. Mind Eraser

BlakRoc 2 Details

Two years ago, blues-rock band The Black Keys released Blakroc, the rock rap album with rappers such as Mos Def, Raekwon and Ludacris. News of Blakroc 2 has just emerged and features include Talib Kweli, Curren$y, Wiz Khalifa, the Cool Kids, Jay Electronica, U-God, Jim Jones, OC, and Sean Price. Read more to watch the trailer for the album.

Continue reading