// archives

the national

This tag is associated with 5 posts

Ketch Harbour Wolves Release “Queen City: Volume One”

Ketch Harbour Wolves
Ketch Harbour Wolves third album, Queen City: Volume One, is now available to purchase from Dead Calm Records. The album consists of eight indie rock tracks that are informed by the historic and contemporary urban experience of Toronto, Canada. As a Lost In The Sound Exclusive here is our favorite song from the release, Signs Were Everywhere.


The album was recorded entirely over the winter of 2013 and was mixed by Laurence Currie at Sunnyside Studio (Wintersleep, Hey Rosetta, In-Flight Safety) and mastered by Noah Mintz at Lacquer Channel (Broken Social Scene, Hayden, The National).

Here’s what the band had to say about the album, “The content of the Queen City albums attempt to create a map of songs for Toronto arising out of specific sites within the city (Leslie Spit, Prince Edward Viaduct, Toronto Dominion Centre), weaving together history, mythology, and personal reflection into a dream-like cinematic narrative.

The title of the album refers to one of several monikers that Toronto has gone by since its foundation in the early 19th century. And yet the city shares this title with many other places throughout North America making it general and specific at the same time.  Toronto serves as a backdrop for universal human emotions (love, death and longing) and Queen City: Volume One is a reminder that each of us has similar dreams and desires, no matter the location.”

The album is available stream from their website, Bandcamp and SoundCloud. For more information about the band be sure to check out their Facebook, and Twitter.

1. Pulled from the Wreckage
2. The Good Blood
3. Signs Were Everywhere
4. Should Have Learned
5. The Angelus
6. Through a Glass Darkly
7. 1992
8. The Beginning

Listen: Wildlife – “Born To Ruin”

Wildlife, Canadian five-piece indie rock band have released their first single Born To Ruin from their upcoming sophomore album …On The Heart set to be released on March 5, 2013. Wildlife consists of five friends who put their hearts into the music they make, with all the violence and romance they can muster. With this shared goal the result is songs with passion and emotion portrayed so evidently.

In Dean Povinsky’s own words about the album, “We recorded a bunch of the songs with brilliant producer and audiophile Peter Katis (Interpol, The National), someone we’ve had our ears on for a very long time. We lived in his home, ate his soup, petted his cats and made music with our minds wide open. We recorded the other bunch with producers Gus Van Go and Werner F (The Stills, Hollerado), two extremely talented guys that opened up a completely different set of doors. Then we took it back to Peter and hunkered down to mix.”

You can listen to Born To Ruin below, and check out their Facebook and Bandcamp pages for more information and to listen to their first album.

The National Perform in NYC

The National recently taped a live performance for MTV’s Live In NYC series while performing at the Studio at Webster Hall. The band performed four songs from their 2010 album High Violet (“Bloodbuzz Ohio”, “Afraid of Everyone”, “Conversation 16” and “Terrible Love”) and “Fake Empire” from Boxer. You can watch all the performances below.

“Bloodbuzz Ohio”:


“Afraid of Everyone”:

“Conversation 16”:

“Terrible Love”:

“Fake Empire”:

The National + PBS

On January 15th, PBS will air The National‘s performance at the Austin City Limits studios in it’s entirety. Check out the setlist and a video taken from the performance for their song “Bloodbuzz Ohio” right here.

The National and Friends

In a recent show, The National were joined on stage by Sufjan Stevens and Nico Muhly. The National and friends performed “Afraid Of Everyone” and “Terrible Love” from their newest record High Violet. Watch a video here.